District Sub Pages:


Regions and Districts

Toastmasters International is a worldwide organisation. From an organisational perspective, Toastmasters is divided into several Regions. Each region is then broken up into several Districts.

The whole of New Zealand previously formed one District – District 72 – and is located in Oceania, Region 12, along with Districts 69, 70, 73 and 17 (Australia).

In 2015 it became apparent that the number of clubs in the country would exceed Toastmasters International guidelines and a new District would be required. From July 1, 2018, District 72 applies to the South Island, plus Greater Wellington, only – the North Island north of Greater Wellington is referred to as District 112. The information on this page applies to both Districts.

Divisions and Areas

Each District is led by a District Director.

(Diagram from page 11 of the Toastmasters International District Leadership Handbook).

There are 14 Divisions in New Zealand, named by letter. Divisions C, D, E, F, G and J form District 72; Divisions K, L , M, N, O, P, Q and R form District 112.

Each Division is served by a Division Director, who is elected every May at the District Annual Business Meeting.

Each Division is comprised of several areas; these areas are named by Division letter and number, e.g. B1 or K3. An Area Director serves each Area. Areas have from 3 to 6 Clubs.

There are approximately 290 active Clubs in New Zealand.

Area Directors are elected by their Area Councils before the May Business meeting. Area Directors not elected before the May Business meeting may be appointed by the incoming District Director.

District Administration

The District is served by seven District Officers, who together form the District Executive.

The District Director, Program Quality Director and the Club Growth Director are elected every May at the District Annual Business Meeting. The Immediate Past District Director is an automatic position. The remaining three Executive Positions are appointed, these are the Finance Manager, Administration Manager and Public Relations Manager.

For more information on the process of forming two Districts from one, please see our District Reformation page.

The District Administration Committee consists of the District Executive and the Division Directors.

Field Officers

Field Officers are appointed to assist with specific aspects of running the District effectively. They are:

  • District Parliamentarian
  • Convention Consultant
  • Convention Chairperson
  • District Webmaster
  • District Directory Officer
  • District Supplies Officer
  • District Historian
  • Spirit of Success Administration
  • Training Coordinator
  • WHQ Supplies Officer
  • District Statistical Analyst
  • District FreeToastHost Support

Want to know more?

For more information about the organisation of each District, please email its Director at director.d72@toastmasters.org.nz or  d112director@toastmasters.org.nz.